Pretty Useful Things


For the A/W 2011 season, I made a few key purchases that will no doubt see me through many years to come.

The Glazed “Patricia” bag from makers Liebeskind Berlin. Liebeskind in german means “love child”. Suits me to a T, then. The bag has a wonderful grain and texture, suspiciously has a birkinesque shape which I adore and it is roomy enough inside to house all my nick-nacks. Seriously, this bag is like Dr. Who’s Tardis, the space inside seems never ending. Purchased on sale from Nordstrom for $138.90. That’s 50% off the regular price. I love a good bargain!

Meet the Giuseppe Zanotti Ankle Boot. Style No. I17063. A six inch micro thin heel, hidden platform, covered in butter-soft black suede. The cut of the boot is very flattering on the ankle and whether worn with spray-on skinny jeans or bum grazing shorts, these beauties make my legs look a week long. Purchased from Bloomingdales. Price point is somewhat steep at $795.00 but I justify the expenditure by telling myself these simple sky-high ankle boots are hard to find. Surprisingly comfortable, I can walk and stand in these for hours without my toes complaining. These will be my go to shoes whenever I want add a little high-octane sex appeal to my outfit.

Jemma Ankle Boots by Dolce Vita. Modern take on a classic 70’s short boot. A very suave stack heel which stands at 5.5 inches and the whole piece is covered in suede so you just know this shoe will look even better three years from now when they are a little more scuffed and worn looking. Very rock and roll. I’ve had these for almost a week and I’ve been wearing them non-stop. Very comfy, lots of wiggle room for the toes. I love anything that makes me appear taller than I actually am. Last weekend my husband and I had a little browse in a used record store and the guys at the counter couldn’t stop staring at my legs, so I knew these shoes were a keeper and a really good find! Priced a little more sensibly than the Giuseppe Zanotti boots at $229.00 from Bloomingdales.

